Long walk home by ellyn oaksmith

Goodreads Summary

Lola recognized him straight away. After ten long years of telling herself that maybe she hadn’t really loved him—there he was. And straight away she knew she wanted him still.

Lola Alvarez loves working in the restaurant of Blue Hills, her family’s winery, looking out over vine-covered slopes down to the crystal-blue waters of the lake. But she is also determined to make her own mark on the business—to show her older sister Carmen that she’s not the same flighty teen she used to be.

Her plan to build gorgeous vacation cabins in the mountain meadow above the winery will be the perfect addition to Blue Hills, even if she has to go behind Carmen’s back to make her dream a reality. When Carmen sees how popular they are she’ll have to come round—right?

But then Gus Weaver comes back to town. Gus was her first love, the bad boy she used to climb out of windows to see. But he’d broken her heart when he left town suddenly, without so much as a goodbye. After that, she’d never seen him again.

Until now. As fate intervenes and they’re forced to work together on Lola’s project, sparks start to fly between them once again. But he’s led her astray before. Can Lola keep her mind on what she truly wants, when her heart—and the way it beats faster every time she looks into Gus’s blue eyes—is telling her something very different?

An utterly romantic feel-good read about being true to yourself and becoming the person you were always meant to be, Long Walk Home will make you laugh, make you cry and show you that true love always finds a way. For fans of Robyn Carr, Carolyn Brown and Mary Ellen Taylor

First and foremost, the Pacific Northwest is the setting I didn’t know I needed when I went into this book. Reading and loving writers like Debbie Macomber and JoAnn Ross made me fall in love with this part of America once upon a time but it’s been a while since I’ve read either of these ladies. So, when I went into this book, that location was a pleasant surprise especially for spring reading. If you’re looking for a contemporary romance escape, this is your read!

I love that Lola and Gus come from different worlds but were totally in love; Lola being the daughter of the winery owners and Gus was the bad boy from the wrong side of the tracks. One night Gus makes some really stupid decisions that lands himself in jail and pushes him from Lola’s life. Fast forward and Lola is ready to step it up at the winery and wants to become the Blue Hills chef, though her sister Carmen is giving her push back. Lola has this great idea of building cabins on the winery’s property for vacationers to stay in but to put her plan in motion, has to go about it behind Carmen’s back. The person assigned to build the cabins, is Gus!

Second chance has become one of my favorite romance tropes because I think there is so much you can do with it, so many different approaches you can take with it while at the same time-it works so well when you take it back to basics. Long Walk Home captures the basics I love in. a second chance romance. At the heart of this trope I think is the idea of, would you take it there again with a past love if given the chance, and we see that with Gus and Lola. Gus is back to right his wrongs, and amend the relationships he hurt during his youth and Lola is demanding her family take her ideas for the winery more serious. They both have a lot going on, amidst their feelings for one another.

You can’t help but root for Gus and Lola! I also really enjoyed the family dynamic in this one; sometimes Lola felt like a total brat while Carmen was stubborn and didn’t want to budge! But hey, that’s sister relationships for you. I loved the third person perspective in this book-it really allows you as the reader the opportunity to truly see what is going on. The writing is so beautiful and atmospheric, you are transported to the family vineyard! I felt like I could feel the warm fire on my skin and smell the amazing vineyard scents.

Truly a heartwarming book I couldn’t put down.

4.75/5 Stars

Posted by

Hi I'm Bree, an Air Force Veteran turned Stay At Home Mom, full time college student and lover of romance.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s